Selah Sue (Photos and Video)

Me, Selah and her band

Me, Selah and her band

I’m finally home to write about the concert I went to World Cafe Live. Selah Sue and Bushwalla stopped in Philadelphia for a show during Selah’s first ever headline tour in the US. Ever since I came across Selah’s music a few months back, I made a mental note to make sure that I go to her show when she comes to Philly.

On the day of the show, I wasnt feeling well and I wasnt going to attend BUT I sat in my room and listened to her album and I was like “Jade, you HAVE to go see this girl.”

And I’m happy that I did!

Her show was so great. And she sounds equally amazing live as she does on her album.

Before Tuesday, I’ve never heard of Bushwalla. But trust me, he’s good! His one-man-band performance was full of energy, laughs and he audience interaction (which is a plus for me, when a performers communicates with his or her audience). As soon as he started singing, I was thinking “where has this guy been all of my life?” He has definitely made me a fan!

Now for Miss Selah Sue!

The 24 year old, Belgian singer/songwriter began her performance with a new song, “Always Home”, in which she said was the first time she was performing it. And good thing I had my phone fully charged, so I recorded it. The video is below!

Selah’s performance was filled with flawless singing, dancing, Lauryn Hill covers, reggae and acoustic. She performed her hits “This World”, “Raggamuffin”, “Mommy” and “Please” which is actually a duet with Cee-Lo. She definitely has something and it’s hard to describe and define her as an artist and her sound because it’s very versatile. While I was watching and listening to her, I literally got chills. Seriously.

She’s that good!

If you don’t know who Selah is or havent heard her music you need to rush over to YouTube or Spotify and iTunes (especially when after you fall in love with her like I did.)

And don’t forget to also give Bushwalla a listen too.

I took nearly 500 photos that night so I had to narrow it down a respectable number to share! And I have a couple of videos! But I’ll post those later.


Selah performs “Always Home”.

4 responses to “Selah Sue (Photos and Video)

  1. Pingback: Unredeemed, Selah With Lyrics | music for the soul·

  2. Nice post! Can’t wait to see your videos. Selah Sue is one of our favorite artists and its kinda killin us that she stayed out east for her first headline tour of the States. Saw her do a bunch of acoustic shows last year – need to see her with the band live. Check out her Lille concert. Amazing. Girl freakin rocks.

    • I just posted a video to this post. I have a couple more but they take soooo long to upload :(. But I instantly fell in love with Selah and her sound. I’ll take a look at her Lille concert. I’m sure it’s amazing. She’s amazing!

Comments are closed.